Everyone’s a teacher, and everything’s a lesson


Today, I had the less-than-fun task of sending of a request to Companies House to prevent a previous client of mine striking themselves off and dissolving their business without paying me.

In some ways, I feel like I failed. I felt like I had naively entered into the situation and could have easily avoided this if I hadn’t been so eager to take the job on. On the other hand, I can look back and realise one thing.

I won’t be doing it again.

Not only that, I’ve learned about the processes and procedures involved to appropriately manage the situation, I’ve learned about what a business can do if they get themselves into financial trouble, and about many other aspects of the business world that I was previously not privy to.

Having come from a career where there are departments to handle these different aspects of business, it is only now that I can empathise with business owners who have broad shoulders and big heads to carry the multiple hats needed to operate.

That’s not to say that I never understood; but now I can throw my two pence into the conversation.

For all the lows, and all the highs, I love my job. I know that I can’t teach my clients ground-breaking new rules and I would never profess to. I’m still learning, and each and every business that I get the chance to sit with, means that I can pass on my knowledge so that both of us can learn from the results.

Even when I disagree with someone, even when it’s a negative or conflicting situation. I learn. And I grow. And each time I do, I’m stronger for it, and so are my clients.

Take each day as a lesson and take a moment every so often to look back and see how far you’ve come.

Enjoy the endless adventures of your business no matter where it takes you.

Susanne Dansey is the Managing Director of Purple Cow Ideas Management – an organisation that facilitates a paradigm shift in the collaborative nature of the ICT Industry. You can follow her on Twitter and join the conversation on Facebook.

 

Your turn!

