You Love, We Love iPads?


A well respected peer was sitting next to me today jotting down some notes today… on paper… can you believe that?!

Last week I was caught jotting ideas on a napkin (which I still refer to) and on both occasions, comments were passed by observers that with all the technology at our finger tips we still enjoy the process and personal touch we create as soon as our pen touches and glides across the paper. Lovely.

But, maybe what we’re doing is occasionally setting ourselves free from the way in which we’ve consciously moulded ourselves around all the technology we own?

Since mobile phones have become smaller and sexier, it’s more often than not that I find myself politely asking others to remove them from their line of sight (typically the dining table or lap). When did it become normal that we lived for phone calls or the chime of an email/text alert?

Before the iPad, I picked up a cook book and took it into the kitchen to splatter with food and make jottings in.

After the iPad, the cook books collect dust and I now have online access to millions of different ways to roast a chicken including this one.

That’s right dear reader, I’ve changed. What happened to me?! I could have easily carried on in life without one of these tablety beauties but instead I now get excited at the novelty of actually using a pen and paper!

Sigh.

Still, if like me, if you are as good as surgically attached to it and would rather your iPad looked a little different to the other 24,999,999 currently in circulation, check out these amusing decal stickers crafted by those with a sense of humour here.

Susanne Dansey is the Managing Director of Purple Cow Ideas Management – an organisation that facilitates a paradigm shift in the collaborative nature of the ICT Industry. You can follow her on Twitter and join the conversation on Facebook.

Your turn!

