Coffee Overload and Hitting a Mid-Afternoon Downer? Go Green!


MintI’ve made no secret of the fact that coffee is a bit of a crutch for me: the smell of the beans, the taste of a properly made coffee, and the whole experience in general is something I find particularly enjoyable and sets me up for whatever the day throws at me.

However, I make it a rule not to have coffee after 12 noon to avoid restless sleeps and the feeling I get every so often where my brain is about to spin out with so many ideas. But there are times when I do need a little pick me up and I’ve found two or three tasty little recipes courtesy of Gwyneth Paltrow (not personally of course) that you might want to try when you need a little pick me up alternative to coffee.

Here’s your starter for ten…

The Best Green Juice

Serves 1

  • 5 large leaves of kale, ribs discarded, leaves roughly chopped
  • 1 lemon, zest and pith removed
  • 1 large apple, roughly chopped
  • A 1-inch piece of fresh ginger
  • 1 sprig of fresh mint (however I throw in a good handful)

Throw everything in a juicer or blender and let the machine do its ‘thang’. If you are using a blender you’ll want to add about 1/2 cup of water to get things moving and then push it through a sieve into a glass.

You’ll get the kick you typically look for from a coffee without the hideous drop you tend to get afterwards. Not just that, it’s good for you: the kale is full of calcium and antioxidants, the ginger, mint and the lemon helps digest all those ‘customer lunches’ and toxins, and the apple contains pectin which aids weight loss.

Taking the time to put this little number together will help you step away from your desk and give your brain time to think creatively about whatever it is you are working on.

Time for all you office managers to get a juicer bought for the office kitchen!

Your turn!

